9 Jan 2012

6 Music Picks: Thought Forms and Beccy Owen

Every week we get to play two tracks for Tom Robinson on his excellent BBC 6 Music Introducing show... you can listen again here.  

Thought Forms - Song For Junko

  SONG FOR JUNKO by Thought Forms

Part of the ever evolving and interesting Bristol lo-fi rock scene, Thought Forms are Charlie, Guy and Deej and play wondrous, experimental, rock-infused soundscapes. Sky Pegs is their EP that we took Song For Junko from - released on Geoff Barrow's excellent local label Invada Records. Hats off to the Portishead producer and multi-instrumentalist for giving emerging talent from his Hood a chance - Thought Forms supported Portishead in the States in 2011, needless to say it was a highlight of the year: high five you guys!

Beccy Owen - You Are Gone

Already known to Tom and 6 Music Introducing as the frontwoman with joyful indie electro-rockers Sharks Took The Rest, we did some snooping and Beccy Owen has had a solo career well worth a mention. Based in Leeds but originally from Wales, she says she writes 'eccentric pop music with a big dark heart.' We took this song from her solo album released in 2008 Down With Gravity. Gorgeous stuff.